Condoms and Christianity

I now volunteer for the Northern Colorado Aids Project and last Saturday I helped at a health fair booth in Windsor Colorado.  It’s a small mostly farming/ranching community east of Fort Collins.

I must admit it was a bit strange to sit behind a table with a two bowls of condoms on it along with information about STD’s, AID’s, and alternate sexualities.  Even stranger to do it in Windsor.

But I also must admit that I met some very interesting, wonderful, clever, people.  Some gay, some not.  Some had friends who they were concerned about regarding STD’s and Aids, other were just people that appreciated what we do for the community.

And then it occured to me that I think it’s pretty awesome to go to places and just be me…hopefully being a light… to people that many conservative Christians avoid:  Brilliant scientists who are mostly aesthists and agnostics at astronomy club, the gay and lesbian community, and those living with HIV,(for the record, almost as many hetrosexuals have HIV as do homosexuals so I choose to keep the gay community and the AID’s work seperate in my mind).

What a wonderful eclectic group of people that I have encountered and really enjoyed being around.

And on a side note:  I’ve never knew there were so many different types of condoms out there including banana flavor.  Now tell me that’s not funny…

My next post will be on my dinner at Astronomy Club that I also had a blast at; and there was no birth control involved…

2 responses to “Condoms and Christianity

  1. flavoured heh, hmm gives a whole new twist to a banana split! 😉

  2. revolutionishere

    LOL
    that’s exactly what I said! scarrry.

Leave a Reply

