Are Evangelicals Really Interested in Social Justice – Synchroblog

First off, yes, I’m back for now.  I’ve been writing via other endeavors and have not had the time or had anything profound to say on my very own blog.  🙂

Thanks for those of you who have inquired via comment or email.  I am alive.

The synchroblog this month is social justice and I’m about three days late:

Since this is a near and dear issue with me, but it also is with many people now (thank God) I thought I’d take a slightly different angle.

It warms my heart that the evangelical community is beginning to embrace issues of social justice.  So much so that CNN gave a report about how some evangelicals may not vote the right wing party line because the left seems to be more aware and do more with social justice issues.  I’m not sure if that’s true or not, but what is true is that a shift seems to be taking place.  It’s not a large one.  I don’t see it happening in every evangelical church in Northern Colorado, but I hear stories coming from places like the Vineyard and Timberline (mega churches here in Fort Collins) that give me hope.

So, a question has emerged from this:  Is it just a fad for right wing bible believing Christians (and theologically I still consider myself one to a very moderate extent-although there will be plenty who are not as moderate that would disagree with me and that’s okay.  I’m all about embracing differences), or is it a real move?

I have my hopes and I have my doubts.  Maybe the evangelical church is trying to be cool by listening to Bono (and who doesn’t listen to him?), but maybe there is something growing in this segment of Christ’s church that desires to do more than ‘give them the word of God.’

In 20 years history may reveal itself.  I have doubts, but mostly I’m hopeful.

 

Adam Gonnerman on Guantanamo Bay in the eyes of God.

Julie Clawson on Human rights and Christian comfort.

Steve Hayes on Human rights and Christian faith.

Steve Hayes (again!) on Human Rights and Amnesty International.

Alan Knox on My charade is the event of the season.

Sally Coleman on If.

Sonja Andrews on Human wrongs.

Cobus van Wyngaard on Christianization and Humanization and our task in Zimbabwe.

Bryan Riley on Bloggers unite for human rights.

Prof Carlos Z on A new examination of human rights.

KW Leslie on For those who say Christians have no rights.

Mike Bursell on Human rights (and Christian responsibilities).

 

 

Leave a Reply

